Posted in Poetry

School ‘Holly’ Day

At quarter past eight, I thought I would be late

Yet it was still early in the morning

Become what may, of the school holiday

My grandfather Joe was still yawning

 

At quarter past nine, I really took my time

My bowl of porridge was awaiting

At five past ten, I woke up from my den

My grandmother Sue was still debating

 

At half past eleven, we reached the River Severn

The ducks on the bank were astounding

At twenty to twelve, we saw a Mr Melve

He fell into the river, heart was pounding

 

At ten past one, my joy had nearly gone

My very tiny belly was to grumble

Yet five minutes later, we saw a kind waiter

The best meal ever, rendered humble 

 

At twenty five to two, we visited the zoo

Gorillas were looking at me strangely

At five past three, birds surrounding me

They seemed to want to re-arrange thee

 

At quarter past four, we reached the zoo door

Grandmother left the shop so jolly

At half past five, her smile had come alive

She had bought me gifts and holly

 

At ten past six, my bike he had to fix

The shining glare was less appealing

At half past six, I was really in the mix

Dinner time coming was the feeling

 

At five to eight, they thought I couldn’t wait

Bedtime stories were commencing

Laughing in the night, a glorious sight

Grandfather talked about fencing

 

By quarter past eight, at a splendid rate

Grandfather saw me looking sleepy

Into the night, switching off the light

Twinkling stars will surely greet me

 

Written by Geraldine Taylor ©

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

BMI songwriter, founder of Talented Showcase 1 and ambassador for Elite Fitness Apparel. Her song titles include Change, Imagine, Every Kind of Beautiful, Have Hope, Pour on Us A Blessing, Set to Rise and much more. Her songs have been recorded and performed by artists worldwide. She has written songs for music producers and music publishers from across the globe. Her music covers a range of genres including pop, electronic, soul, gospel, r n b, theatre and more. As the songwriter of her released tracks, her songs feature a range of singers and rappers. Geraldine is the created of the poetry anthology series entitled The Creative Collective Anthology. The series features poets internationally and is part of an ongoing series. Her current titles include The Ever-Changing Dream, The Enchanted Door, Getting Kids Active, By His Grace, Employable & Useful and more. Geraldine has created an online platform, namely Talented Showcase 1 which features emerging artists in the talent industry. Her regular blogs that feature her latest creative works including songwriting, poetry, book excerpts, artist interviews and more can be viewed online.

Leave a comment